Have you ever been in a relationship where you gave so much of yourself and you didn’t recognize who you were anymore? 

Have you ever entered into a relationship a totally whole person, but after the relationship ended, you were broken, but the person you broke up with is now whole?

It’s so hard understanding the world of dating. It’s even harder understanding individual’s true intentions. It seems like most people have hidden agendas and by the time you invest your feelings, the agendas are just starting to surface and they are not the things you wanted in your life. I often wonder why so many people who claim that they are looking for or desiring love in relationships, seem to be less than forthcoming with the things they desire. Why has something so pure, so innocent, so simple become so complicated? I sit here and ponder over my own feelings and I have come to the conclusion that the lack of trust has become a huge factor, and possibly the sting of rejection coming in second. Nobody likes to be rejected….and its hard to put trust in people, especially if you have trusted before and somebody let you down. I just wonder why people don’t list their deal breakers from the start, maybe along with their aspirations, goals, and hopes…Maybe if that was the case, that could save a little time and energy. Who knows? It may save many folks from investing their heart into somebody who doesn’t deserve it. I have learned a few lessons, unfortunately at the expense of getting my feelings hurt a few times, but you live and learn. One, I will not change who I am to be who somebody else wants me to be. Two, if it doesn’t feel right, many times, its not right for me. Three, never invest my time into a person who is not investing their time into me. Four, never give more out than I am willing to lose(that goes for time, money, emotional support). Five, never chase somebody who is clearly pushing you away, if it is meant to be, it will be. Six, love who I am, and make no apologies about who I am. The list could go on, but you get the idea. At the end of the day, always be the love that you want to have in your life. Love yourself first and the rest will follow.

